STEP Home Students in Action Portal (SIA) Portal About STEP STEP Alumni About CSTEP CSTEP Alumni Day of Service Calendar of Events
Students in Action Portal - CSTEP Conferences
CSTEP Conference Home
CSTEP 2008 Conference Home
Poster Competition Winners / Abstracts
. Human Services
. Physical Sciences
. Technology
. Natural Sciences
. Social Sciences
Oral Presentation Abstracts
. Human Services/Social Sciences
. Natural Sciences
. Technology
Workshop Presentation Details
Keynote Speaker Bios & Pics
Conference Schedule
Conference Planning Committee
STEP Action Channel
STEP Video Snapshot
STEP in the News
STEP Conferences
STEP Student Achievements
CSTEP Action Channel
CSTEP Video Snapshot
CSTEP in the News
CSTEP Conferences
CSTEP Student Achievements

CSTEP is a state-wide scholars program designed to foster students’ academic success in preparing for professional licensure or careers in the scientific, technical, or health-related professions. Since 1992, the conference has gathered our best and brightest students to showcase research/internship experiences while offering professional and personal development workshops. Each year approximately 600 students and staff attend the conference from over 50 schools and colleges across the state of New York.


Human Services

Physical Sciences


Natural Sciences

Social Sciences


Human Services/Social Sciences

Natural Sciences



Click Here to find a description of all seventeen workshops that were held at this year's conference.


There were three keynote speakers at this year's conference. Click Below to read more about them.

Michele Lezama
Executive Director, The National GEM Consortium

Tara Ruttley
Lead Engineer, NASA Human Research Facility

Dr. Mark Hernandez
Faculty Director, Colorado Diversity Initiative, University of Colorado


The CSTEP Statewide Student Conference, which was held April 4-6, 2008 at The Sagamore Resort & Conference Center, Bolton Landing, New York. Click Here to view our full conference schedule.


  • JoAnn K. May, Co-Chairperson, Syracuse University
  • Larry P. Thomas, Co-Chairperson, Syracuse University
  • Sheila Clifford-Bova, Syracuse University
  • Debra Evans-Greene, College of Staten Island
  • Gladys Palma de Schrynemakers, Long Island University
  • Uriel Reid, Manhattanville College
  • Barbara Thompson, SUC at Brockport
  • Henry Teoh, SUC at Old Westbury
  • Shanna Crump-Owens, SUNY Buffalo
  • Felicia Collins, SUNY Albany
  • Renaldo D. Alba, Fordham University
  • Marjorie Warden, Clarkson University



Site powered & created and Technology Users Interface, Inc.
All content therein on is organized by NYS STEP & CSTEP Programs. Copyright © 2009-2020. All Rights Reserved.
Find a STEP or CSTEP Program.